NBK global advisory board sets Middle East precedent
Business Reporterhttp://www.gulf-times.com/site/topics/article.asp?cu_no=2&item_no=206547&version=1&template_id=48&parent_id=28

DOHA: National Bank of Kuwait (NBK), which currently owns 30% of the International Bank of Qatar with full management contract, has concluded its inaugural International Advisory Board meeting in Kuwait.
Several international financial and banking organisations such as Deutsche Bank, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley have established similar advisory boards, nevertheless, the NBK International Advisory Board sets a precedent for banks and financial institutions in the Middle East, NBK said. 

NBK chief executive officer and vice chairman of International Bank of Qatar (IBQ), Ibrahim Dabdoub, said he was delighted the new advisory Board was chaired by John Major, who for nearly a decade during his years as Prime Minister of the UK, played a vital role in devising regional policies in the Middle East. The board has its members some of the most prominent figures from the Middle East, US, Britain, India and the Far East.
NBK International Advisory Board Members are:  John Major (former UK Prime Minister), Mukesh Ambani (chairman and managing director, Reliance Industries, India), Matthew Barrett (former chairman and CEO, Barclays Bank, UK), John Chipman (director general and chief executive, International Institute for Strategic Studies, UK) Anthony Cordesman(chairman, Center for Strategic and International Studies, US), Peter Davies (special economic adviser to BP, UK), Ged Davis (co-president Global Energy Assessment, Austria), Mohamed A El-Erian, (co-CEO and Co-CIO, PIMCO, US), Prince Turki al-Faisal (chairman King Faisal Centre for Research and Islamic Studies, Saudi Arabia), Martin Feldstein (president and CEO, National Bureau of Economic Research, US), Toyoo Gyohten (president, Institute for International Monetary Affairs, Japan) Steve H Hanke, (professor of Applied Economics, Johns Hopkins University, US), Abdullatif al-Hamad (chairman and director general, Arab Fund for Economic & Social Development, Kuwait), Mustafa V Koc, (chairman, KOC Holding, Turkey), Cees Maas, (former vice-chairman and CFO of ING Group, Netherlands), Moises Naim, (editor-in-chief, Foreign Policy, US), Naguib Sawiris, (chairman and CEO, Orascom Telecom Holding Egypt) Klaus Schwab (executive chairman and founder, World Economic Forum, Switzerland), Tom de Swaan, (adviser to managing board ABN-AMRO, Netherlands) Tony Tan Keng Yam (deputy chairman and executive director, Government of Singapore Investment Corporation) David Walker (senior adviser, Morgan Stanley, UK) and John Waterbury (president, American University of Beirut, Lebanon).


Comments are closed.

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!